A key component of the agenda is the annual EE Visionary Awards Luncheon, which will take place the second day of EE Global and celebrate the “best of the best” in energy efficiency.  This year’s recipients showcase the important work being done by all levels of government around the world to deploy energy efficiency and increase energy productivity.  The EE Visionary Awards are selected by the EE Global International Steering Committee and bestowed upon recipients from different regions of the world (the Americas, Asia-Pacific, Europe and Africa-Middle East) in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the advancement of energy efficiency infrastructure, policy and adoption.

The representatives from each entity embody leadership and commitment to promoting energy efficiency and increasing energy productivity through innovative programs and policies. The 2014 EE Visionary Award recipients represent a spectrum of local, regional, and national government entities.

Hon. Arnold Schwarzenegger will be honored for his efforts to advance energy efficiency during his tenure as Governor of California, and through his non-profit Regions 20, which promotes and implements projects that provide economic benefit while reducing energy consumption in over 560 regional governments from around the world. Terry Tamminen of Regions 20 will be accepting the award on Schwarzenegger’s behalf.

The Kingdom of Demark will be recognized for its progressive energy and environmental policies and standards, which are an exemplary model of next generation energy efficiency.  Danish Minister of Climate, Energy and Building Rasmus Helveg Petersen will accept the award and make formal remarks.

Songdo International Business District, “City of the Future,” in Incheon, South Korea will be receiving an EE Visionary Award for implementing diverse policies and technologies in urban planning, efficiency, and conservation. Commissioner Lee Jong-Cheol will be accepting the award on Songdo’s behalf.